Alliant Energy awards 25 students with Innovation Scholarships

Each student receives a $1,000 scholarship

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – May 28, 2020 – Alliant Energy has awarded 25 local students with a $1,000 Innovation Scholarship. The recipients of the annual scholarship were selected based on the following criteria:

  • Essay that identified a problem in their community and presented an innovative solution using science, technology, engineering and/or math.
  • Leadership role within the community.
  • Grade-point average.

“We are proud to recognize these students for their outstanding community leadership and academic success,” said Julie Bauer, Manager – Community Affairs, Alliant Energy. “We wish them the best of luck with their future plans and goals.”

Below is a full list of the 2020 Innovation Scholarship winners.

Name high school student's city
Wyatt Oppedahl 
 Boone High School Boone, Iowa
Treena Knowles  Boscobel High School Boscobel, Wis.
Maddy Huschitt
Black Hawk High School Browntown, Wis.
Megan Sherman
Center Point-Urbana High School Center Point, Iowa
Madison Van Vors Center Point-Urbana High School Center Point, Iowa
Hannah Schiesl Wahlert Catholic High School Dubuque, Iowa
Jacqueline Trujillo Garcia AC/GC High School Guthrie Center, Iowa
Emily Bruckschen  Howards Grove High School Howards Grove, Wis.
Zachary Heacox  Parker High School  Janesville, Wis.
Samuel Keyser Milton High School
Janesville, Wis.
Blake Raymer Craig High School  Janesville, Wis.
Shannon Beck Mount Vernon High School   Lisbon, Iowa
Ruth Hammer Mauston High School Mauston, Wis.
Lauren Beckman Danville Jr. Sr. High School  Middletown, Iowa
Abbigail Johnson Central Lee High School Montrose, Iowa
Lauren Dirth Muscatine High School Muscatine, Iowa
Seth Hoffman Muscatine High School Muscatine, Iowa 
Mitchell Mussehl Belleville High School New Glarus, Wis.
Sean Kluesner Beckman Catholic High School New Vienna, Iowa
Shelly Powell Brookwood High School Norwalk, Wis.
Amelia Taylor Ripon High School Ripon, Wis.
Matthew Butler Highland High School  Riverside, Iowa
Seth Morse Howards Grove High School  Sheboygan Falls, Wis.
Kayla Marino Burlington Notre Dame West Burlington, Iowa
Molly Simmons Panorama Community High School Yale, Iowa 


Recipients must be age 24 or younger and enrolling for the first time at an undergraduate school. They also must be a dependent child of a current Alliant Energy customer or a customer themselves.

More information on the Innovation Scholarships and a full list of scholarships offered by Alliant Energy