Students awarded Innovation Scholarships from Alliant Energy

Each student receives $1,000 scholarship

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa (May 31, 2022) – A group of 25 students in Iowa and Wisconsin have received $1,000 Innovation Scholarships from Alliant Energy. Innovation Scholarships recognize outstanding community leadership and innovative problem solving, and are intended to help students with the cost of higher education. Recipients of the annual scholarships were selected using the following criteria:  

A written essay identifying a problem in the student’s community and suggesting an innovative solution using science, technology, engineering and/or math. 

Leadership in community service activities and volunteer work. 

Grade-point average and standardized test scores. 

“We are thrilled to foster the young minds in our communities,” said Julie Bauer, manager of community affairs at Alliant Energy. “We look forward to seeing all they accomplish in the future to strengthen the science, technology, engineering and math workforce and make a positive impact in these critical roles and their communities.” 

Below is a full list of the 2022 Innovation Scholarship winners.  

Name High School STudent's City
Shelby Lutz  Amherst High School Amherst, WI
Hailey Jentz  Belmont High School  Belmont, WI
Jacqueline Workman  Burlington Community High School  Burlington, IA
Bella Dougherty Thomas Jefferson High School

Cedar Rapids, IA

 Max Aulwes  Chariton High School  Chariton, IA
 Mason Maeder  Monona Grove High School  Cottage Grove, WI
 Morgan Grelk  Winfield-Mt. Union Jr-Sr HS  Crawfordsville, IA
 Adam Banerjee  Ripon High School   Green Lake, WI
 John Bilhorn  Milton High School  Janesville, WI
 McKaylie Justman  Joseph A. Craig High School  Janesville, WI
 Stephanie Blom  Marshalltown High School & Homeschool  Marshalltown, IA
 Ally Fenner  Mauston High School  Mauston, WI
 Henry Collins  Milton High School  Milton, WI
 Drew Hottenstein  Mineral Point High School Mineral Point, WI 
 Sarah Brokopp  Monticello High School Monticello, WI 
 Alana Higgins  Union High School  Mount Auburn, IA
 Nathan McWilliams  Mount Pleasant Community High School  Mount Pleasant, IA
 Kallie Van Kley  Newton Senior High School Newton, IA 
 Quinton Hull  Ottumwa High School   Ottumwa, IA
 Anikah Rath  Ottumwa High School   Ottumwa, IA
 Celina Lopez  Ripon High School  Ripon, WI
 Silas Hoffman  Muscatine High School  Robins, IA
 Cameron Pokorny Waupun Area Jr./Sr. High School   Waupon, WI
 Hayley Moore  Wautoma High School  Wautoma, WI
 Kirby Cook  East Buchanan  Winthrop, IA

Recipients must be age 24 or under and enrolling for the first time at an undergraduate school. They also must reside within Alliant Energy’s service territory at the time of application and be a dependent child of a current Alliant Energy customer or a customer themselves.  

More information on the Innovation Scholarships and a full list of scholarships offered by Alliant Energy can be found at

Alliant Energy Corporation (NASDAQ: LNT) provides regulated energy service to 985,000 electric and 425,000 natural gas customers across Iowa and Wisconsin. Alliant Energy's mission is to deliver energy solutions and exceptional service customers and communities count on – safely, efficiently and responsibly. Interstate Power and Light Company and Wisconsin Power and Light Company are Alliant Energy's two public energy companies. Alliant Energy is a component of the Nasdaq CRD Sustainability Index, Bloomberg’s 2022 Gender-Equality Index, and the S&P 500. For more information, visit and follow Alliant Energy on LinkedIn, Facebook, Instagram and Twitter

Media Contact

Melissa McCarville

(319) 786-4169

Contact Media Relations

24-hour access for reporters

For Iowa inquiries: (319) 786-4040
For Wisconsin inquiries: (608) 458-4040

Related Stories

View More News Releases