Emergency? Call 1-800-ALLIANT (1-800-255-4268)

Apply for a Community Service Scholarship

Community Service Scholarship

The Alliant Energy Foundation is offering a new scholarship opportunity to recognize outstanding community leadership in young people and help students reach their academic goals.

Up to 25 $1,000 scholarships are awarded to students annually through the new Alliant Energy Foundation Community Service Scholarship Program.

Award selection is based on participation in a leadership role in community service activities and volunteer work; academic grade point average; standardized test scores; and the content of a 300-word essay submission.

Apply for Alliant Energy Foundation Community Service Scholarship

2013 Community Service Scholarship recipients

  • Carissa Brown - Boone, Iowa (Boone High School)
  • Linsey Feit - Wisconsin Rapids, Wis (Lincoln High School)
  • Katelyn Franzen - Fredericksburg, Iowa (Sumner - Fredericksburg High School)
  • Nathan Friar - Wauzeka, Wis (Wauzeka - Steuben Schools)
  • Taylor Gordon - Nelsonville, Wis (Amherst High School)
  • Claire Gorman - Janesville, Wis (Parker High School)
  • Jared Gradeless - Melrose, Iowa (Albia Community High School)
  • Natalie Hanson - La Porte City, Iowa (Union High School)
  • Lindsey Johnson - West Burlington, Iowa (West Burlington High School)
  • Elizabeth Lynch - Ames, Iowa (Gilbert High School)
  • Shelly Palmer - Keota, Iowa (Mid-Prairie High School)
  • Leah Parrott - Kalona, Iowa (Mid-Prairie High School)
  • Christina Paulson - Ames, Iowa (Ames High School)
  • Matthew Porter - Rio, Wis (Rio Middle/High School)
  • Macy Rice - Mount Vernon, Iowa (Mount Vernon High School)
  • Courtney Richman - Waterloo, Wis (West High School)
  • Jordyn Schara - North Freedom, Wis (Reedsburg Area High School)
  • Jenna Schutter - Lakota, Iowa (North Iowa High School)
  • Claire Scott - Gratiot, Wis (Darlington High School)
  • Alex Shadley - Sigourney, Iowa (Sigourney Jr/Sr High School)
  • Allison Shaver - Cottage Grove, Wis (Monona Grove High School)
  • Teresa Simon - Beaver Dam, Wis (Beaver Dam High School)
  • Melissa Stel - Markesan, Wis (Lourdes Academy)
  • Cole Tidemann - Rosendale, Wis (Laconia)
  • April Torney - Riceville, Iowa (Riceville Community School)

Eligibility guidelines

To be eligible, scholarship applicants must have participated in a leadership role in community service work or volunteer activities. They must also meet the following criteria:

  • Be age 24 or under;
  • Be a dependent child of a current customer, or be a current customer, of one of Alliant Energy's utility subsidiaries (Interstate Power and Light or Wisconsin Power and Light);
  • Have a cumulative high school grade point average between 2.50 and 4.00 on a 4.0 scale (or the equivalent) - emphasis will be placed on community service leadership activities;
  • Reside within the Alliant Energy service territory at the time of application; and
  • Plan to enroll in, for the first time, beginning in the fall of 2014, a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university, or vocational-technical school located within the Alliant Energy service territory.
AE Territory



Employees of Alliant Energy Corporation, Scholarship America, their subsidiaries, affiliates, advertising and promotion agencies and their immediate family (spouses, parents, children or siblings and their spouses) and persons living in the same household of such employees, who are employed at the time of application are ineligible to receive a scholarship.

Review criteria

A scholarship committee will carefully review each application in search of the most deserving recipients. Judges will consider several criteria, including:

  • Leadership experience and community service or volunteer activities;
  • Academic grade point average;
  • Standardized test scores; and
  • The content of a 300-word essay submission.

Rank-in-class will not be a determining factor. Scholarship awards are for one year only and are limited to undergraduate study. Applications will be accepted from December 1 to February 15.


You may now apply online for the Alliant Energy Foundation. Please click on the link below to apply:

Alliant Energy Foundation Community Service Scholarship

FOR ANY QUESTIONS regarding the Scholarship Program, please contact Dawn Lehtinen, Program Manager, 507-931-0482 or dlehtinen@scholarshipamerica.org.